Revised Wooden Life-Size Wind-Up Car Model

After receiving input from a variety of peers, I set out to revise my wooden life-size wind-up car model.

Revised Wooden Life-Size Wind-Up Car Model 01

I extended the axle around which the rubber band would wind up and cut an in-wheel hook. I tried securing the wheel to the axle by cramming rubber bands under and immediately next to the wheel on both sides.

Revised Wooden Life-Size Wind-Up Car Model 02

Revised Wooden Life-Size Wind-Up Car Model 03

I lined the wheels with rubber bands to increase traction and, like the axle, secured the wheels with rubber bands.

Revised Wooden Life-Size Wind-Up Car Model 05

Revised Wooden Life-Size Wind-Up Car Model 08

When I tested the vehicle, I discovered the rear crosspiece, despite the hole, hindered the band. Thus, I decided to remove the piece for at least testing purposes.

Revised Wooden Life-Size Wind-Up Car Model 09

Revised Wooden Life-Size Wind-Up Car Model 10

Despite the new axle and rubber bands securing the wheels on the sides, the car did not work and, instead, spun in place. The issue was, in part, due to the fact that the band did not wrap around the larger axle piece. and instead, after hooked, wrapped around the dowel. In an attempt to resolve this, I added a grove around the axle wheel. I also added the rubber bands around the wheels as did I with the first attempted wooden model.

Revised Wooden Life-Size Wind-Up Car Model 11

Still, though, the vehicle did not work.

Leave a Reply

